Fencing.

.

We are fencing, you know.

You with your cheery countenance

acting

like a friend but keeping me –

my whole being –

at épée’s end.

Shall I heed your eyes

that challenge me to engage,

or your words

that hold me just beyond

wherever a comfortable distance

might be?

.

About peri, poet.

Writer, lover of Nature, casual photographer of the Beauty of this world... stop by and say hello!
This entry was posted in Dating, Forward, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fencing.

  1. sanberdooboy says:

    such an interesting conundrum! that you directly address the fencer (opponent?) helps make this effective. i like that the poem ends without a resolution. use of the fencing metaphor works so well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment